Skip to content

Thoughts on Making a Book

March 13, 2011

 

Excerpt from preface of “Sting and Nest”

“Thoughts on Making a Book”

I have been told that poems whose subject is the domestic life too easily become sentimental, unimportant, and cannot rival the value of the great themes of war, death, loss, and love. I have been told that the poems of family and motherhood are as essential as water, subjects needed by every mother, father, son, and daughter. I have come to believe the latter—to know such poems as essential, and that every traditional poetic theme runs through them like blood.


These are my necessary poems. In several ways, the writing of them saved my life. Saved, as a record or history documents a period of time. Saved, as helping me to endure and enjoy my daughters’ young and adolescent years without being overwhelmed by a sense of entrapment. Saved me, by providing a vehicle through which I learned to balance motherhood and marriage with my identities as woman, writer, and teacher.

­­–– Barbara Rockman

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Oh how I’m looking forward to this book! Would love to hear more of your thoughts on poet as mother.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lifting the Domestic: A Conversation with Jayne Benjulian | Mother Writer Mentor

Leave a Reply

